Admin

Science

Curriculum Leader: Samuel Espinosa Colon, Samuel.EspinosaColon@ocps.net

Teacher's Name Grade Level Email Voicemail
Selznick, Stephanie 6 Stephanie.Selznick@ocps.net 5064291
Murphy, Ashlee 6 Ashlee.Murphy@ocps.net 5064290
Hews, Nikkole 7 Nikkole.Hews@ocps.net 5064311
Forte, George 7 George.Forte@ocps.net 5064254
Noe, Christine 7 Christine.Noe@ocps.net 5064224
Kulikowski, Alexander 8 Alexander.Kulikowski@ocps.net 5064331
Munnerlyn, Melissa 8 Melissa.Munnerlyn@ocps.net 5064329
Espinosa Colon, Samuel 8 Samuel.EspinosaColon@ocps.net 5064289
Jedrzejak, Brett 6,7,8 Brett.Jedrzejak@ocps.net 5064265


Science Description and Overview:

It is the goal of the Science Curriculum Department to see that all students are able to learn the skills and strategies of proficient problem-solvers and scientifically literate citizens. We strive to promote excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all.

OCPS science curriculum is rich in both science content and process. The content framework in science enables students to acquire understanding of the world around them. This framework includes concepts, principles, facts, laws, and theories which comprise the body of scientific knowledge.

Science process skills are lifelong learning processes that can be applied to any subject for understanding and explanation. These processes include: observing, classifying, measuring, comparing and contrasting, communicating, predicting, hypothesizing, inferring, identifying and manipulating variables, interpreting and analyzing data, and drawing conclusions.

All science curriculum development aligns with the Florida Standards, adopted in 2014.