Admin

Social Studies

 

Curriculum Leader: Kevin Epifano - kevin.epifano@ocps.net

Teacher's Name Grade Level Email Voicemail
Bradley Turner 6 bradley.turner@ocps.net 5064298
Brian Keene 6 brian.keene@ocps.net 5064252
Warren Light 6 warren.light@ocps.net 5064301
Kevin Epifano 7 kevin.epifano@ocps.net 5064305
Jarvis Hough 7 jarvis.hough@ocps.net 5064307
Jason Laustsen 7 jason.laustsen@ocps.net 5064306
Julian Vasquez 7 & 8 julian.vasquez@ocps.net 5064277
Skipper Millien 8 skipper.millien@ocps.net 5064280
Edgardo Rodriguez 8 edgardo.rodriguezdavila@ocps.net 5064302
Adam Johnson 8 adam.johnson@ocps.net 5064321

 

Social Studies Description and Overview: 

It is the goal of the Social Studies division that all students will acquire the habits of mind needed to become reflective and responsible citizens of our nation and world.

The courses taught in Orange County are designed to encourage active learning among our students so that the students will:

  • Understand the significance of the past and its influence on the present.
  • Be mindful of both change and continuity in our lives.
  • Appreciate the challenges and opportunities created by an increasingly interdependent global community.
  • Recognize the personal character traits of people who have made a difference in history.
  • Read various types of information while learning to ask appropriate questions to distinguish fact from opinion.
  • Research information using a variety of sources and effectively communicate findings.
The OCPS Social Studies curriculum follows FLDOE Next Generation Sunshine State Standards in Social Studies including embedded Florida Standards for Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects. View these standards and related activities HERE at CPalms.